New website for the research network now online

After more than four years, the research network “Communicative Figurations” presents itself on a new website. In a total of five sections, the participating institutions and researchers introduce themselves and provide insights into the network’s current activities:

  • “Approach” provides a brief introduction to the theoretical basis of communicative figurations.
  • “News” contains the latest news from the research network.
  • Under “Publications”, selected publications from the network are listed, including in particular fundamental works on the approach, publications on individual topics as well as methodological publications.
  • Under “Projects” there are links to the growing number of research projects that work with the approach of the research network.
  • “Members” introduces researchers currently involved in the research network.

The new website can be reached via the addresses www.communicative-figurations.org (in English) and www.kommunikative-figurationen.de (in German).

Open Access publication: From human-machine-communication to communicative AI

A research article on the automation of communication as a subject of communication and media research has been published in the journal Publizistik. The authors are Andreas Hepp, Wiebke Loosen, Stephan Dreyer, Juliane Jarke, Sigrid Kannengießer, Christian Katzenbach, Rainer Malaka, Michaela Pfadenhauer, Cornelius Puschmann and Wolfgang Schulz. The article is freely accessible.

The objective of this article is to define more precisely the field of research into the automation of communication, which is currently only vaguely discernible. The central thesis is that, in order to be able to grasp the transformation of the media environment associated with the automation of communication, the view must be broadened from the “direct interaction of humans and machines” to “societal communication”. Broadening our perspective as such allows us to ask how the dynamics of societal communication as a whole change when “communicative AI” becomes part of societal communication. To support this thesis, the article first takes a closer look at the automation of communication as a phenomenon. Against this background, the concept of communicative AI is then developed in more detail as a “sensitizing concept” that sensitizes to both the breadth and depth of the phenomenon. On this basis, the bridging concept of the “hybrid figuration” is developed in order to grasp the agency of communicative AI and to be able to connect to “definitive concepts” of social science and media and communication research. It becomes apparent that with communicative AI as a field of research, the basic concepts of communication and media research—“communication” and “media”—are themselves challenged. The article is concluded by a conclusion that shows the research perspectives resulting from such an approach.

Full text (in German language)

Neue Website des Forschungsnetzwerks ist online

Nach mehr als vier Jahren präsentiert sich das Forschungsnetzwerk „Kommunikative Figurationen“ auf einer neuen Webseite. In insgesamt fünf Rubriken stellen sich die beteiligten Institutionen und Forscher:innen vor und geben Einblicke in aktuelle Aktivitäten des Netzwerks:

  • Unter „Ansatz“ gibt es eine kurze Einführung in die theoretische Basis kommunikativer Figurationen.
  • Unter „News“ gibt es aktuelle Meldungen aus dem Forschungsnetzwerk.
  • Unter „Literatur“ werden ausgewählte Publikationen aus dem Netzwerk genannt, darunter insbesondere grundlegende Arbeiten zum Ansatz, Veröffentlichungen zu einzelnen Themenfeldern sowie methodische und methodologische Publikationen.
  • Unter „Projekte“ gibt es Links zu der wachsenden Zahl an Forschungsprojekten, die mit dem Ansatz des Forschungsnetzwerks arbeiten.
  • Unter „Mitglieder“ werden aktuell im Forschungsnetzwerk engagierte Wissenschaftler:innen vorgestellt.

Die neue Website ist über die Adressen www.kommunikative-figurationen.de (in deutscher Sprache) und www.communicative-figurations.org (in englischer Sprache) erreichbar.

Neue Open Access-Veröffentlichung: Von der Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion zur kommunikativen KI

In der Fachzeitschrift Publizistik ist ein Forschungsbeitrag zur Automatisierung von Kommunikation als Gegenstand der Kommunikations- und Medienforschung erschienen. Autor:innen sind Andreas Hepp, Wiebke Loosen, Stephan Dreyer, Juliane Jarke, Sigrid Kannengießer, Christian Katzenbach, Rainer Malaka, Michaela Pfadenhauer, Cornelius Puschmann und Wolfgang Schulz. Der Aufsatz ist frei zugänglich.  

 

Ziel dieses Beitrags ist es, das derzeit nur vage erkennbare Forschungsfeld der Automatisierung von Kommunikation genauer zu definieren. Die zentrale These ist, dass der Blick von der „direkten Interaktion von Mensch und Maschine“ auf die „gesellschaftliche Kommunikation“ geweitet werden muss, um den mit der Automatisierung der Kommunikation verbundenen Wandel der Medienlandschaft erfassen zu können. Eine solche Erweiterung der Perspektive erlaubt die Frage, wie sich die Dynamik der gesellschaftlichen Kommunikation insgesamt verändert, wenn „kommunikative KI“ Teil der gesellschaftlichen Kommunikation wird. Um diese These zu untermauern, wird zunächst die Automatisierung der Kommunikation als Phänomen näher betrachtet. Vor diesem Hintergrund wird dann das Konzept der kommunikativen KI als „Sensibilisierungskonzept“, das sowohl für die Breite als auch für die Tiefe des Phänomens sensibilisiert, näher entwickelt. Darauf aufbauend wird das Brückenkonzept der „hybriden Figuration“ entwickelt, um das Wirken der kommunikativen KI zu erfassen und an „definitive Konzepte“ der Sozialwissenschaft und der Medien- und Kommunikationsforschung anknüpfen zu können. Es wird deutlich, dass mit kommunikativer KI als Forschungsfeld die Grundbegriffe der Kommunikations- und Medienforschung – „Kommunikation“ und „Medien“ – selbst in Frage gestellt werden. Der Artikel schließt mit einem Fazit, das die Forschungsperspektiven aufzeigt, die sich aus einem solchen Ansatz ergeben.

Volltext